June 2005

National Jazz Awards
June 21, 2005 The Phoenix Concert Theatre Toronto
Report by Stanley Fefferman with photos by Roger Humbert

On a limpid first night of summer in Toronto, Bill King and Patrick Taylor produced a café style dinner party at the Phoenix to celebrate the Fourth National Jazz Awards ceremonies. It was a glittering affair.

The opening remarks were by two-time Broadcaster of the Year and now CEO of Jazz FM 91.1 Ross Porter. The event was hosted by Joe Sealy and Heather Bambrick (Vocalist of the Year ’04, ’05 Broadcaster — Jazz FM 91.1 — of the year). The house band was led by Jake Langley (’04 guitarist of the year) who left the pit to accept the award for Electric Group of the Year. Also rising from the pit was Kevin Turcotte for his third Trumpeter of the Year Award.

Jake Langley

Other three time winners in the four year history of the NJA are Clarinetist Phil Nimmons, Saxophonist Mike Murley (who also won Album of the Year for Extra Time), Drummer Terry Clarke, Bassist Dave Young, Arranger/Instrumentalist Don Thompson. Violinist Hugh Marsh, Big Band Leader Rob McConnell, International Musician of the year Diana Krall, Journalist Geoff Chapman, Label of the Year Justin Time, and Festival of the Year winner Festival de Jazz de Montreal. These are our Superstars.

Bassist Roberto Occhipinti, whose eponymous band wins the Acoustic Group of the Year, also takes Producer award. Molly Johnson, the 2004 Jazz FM 91.1 Musician of the Year and Socan Composer of the Year takes the 2005 Vocalist of Year. This year’s Socan Composer award goes to Laila Biali (’03 Galaxie Rising Star Prize) who also receives the ’05 Keyboardist award. This year’s Rising Star is trumpeter Lina Allemano.

Vancouver’s Hugh Fraser receives the Trombonist Award, Toronto’s Reg Schwager is the Guitar recipient, and Musician of the Year is Trumpeter Brad Turner.

Those honoured for extensive contributions to Jazz Culture in Canada are club entrepreneur Doug Cole, Vibraphonist and Leader Peter Appleyard, and guitarist Domenic Troiano who received a musical tribute.

Molly Johnson

That’s the news.

Further credits belong to presenters Universal/Verve Music Canada, Swamperella, Oliver Jones and Ranee Lee, Jane Bunnett and Spirits of Havana, Coral Egan, Jeff Healey and the Jazz Wizards, Marc Jordan, P.J. Perry, Karin Plato, Fortin&Leveillie/Donato/Nasturica, David Braid Sextet, Emilie-Claire Barlow, Heather Bambrick and Joe Sealy, and the Jake Langley NJA House Band.

We welcome your comments and feedback
• • • • • •
Stanley Fefferman
• •
Roger Humbert

| Home | Archives | CD Reviews | Photo Galleries | Concert Listings | Contact |

Please contact us to secure permission for use of any material found on this website.
© The Live Music Report – 2005